Setup Area Management

In this article

    In the sections below you will learn how to use Area Management.
    Before you begin the area definition, you should
    • decide which areas you want to divide the database into
    • decide which employees’ data should be included in each area
    • decide which user or users has sign-on access rights to an area

    Area Management Definitions

    To fully understand how Area Management works, you should read the definitions below. The fields can be found in the dialog boxes Area Management and Area Definition.
    Defined Areas: Displays the name of the area which is defined.

    Area Name: The name of an area. The area defines both data selection and sign-on access rights. These do not necessarily cover the same employees.

    Available associates: Lists all users who are defined as employees in the Users panel in the Admin client.

    Included associates: Names of all users who are included in the area.

    Include all data in Area (no filtering): If ticked the Available associates and Included associates listbox are removed and all data from the central database will be available in the area. Note - changing this requires that you generate a new prototype, this change is not replicated.

    Oldest follow-up(days): You can set a limit on the age of follow-ups you want in the Travel Area. The limit is specified in days, and is applied during prototype generation. In only affects follow-ups (of all types) and documents. 0 means "no age limit".

    Encryption of replicated data: Should the up/dwn files be encrypted.

    Enable freetext: Should the area have freetext search enabled.

    Local DB Type: If area is used as a satellite, what is the default database type for travel.

    Available associates: Lists all users who can be assigned login access rights.

    Assigned associates: Displays the users who have login access rights to the area. A user can only have sign-on rights to one area at a time.

     

    Define an Area

    The best way to visualize how to define areas within your company is to "define the users from the bottom up", starting by defining areas which contain only one user's data and then defining the areas which contain more than one user's data.
    In the example below, the areas of User A and B contain only User A and B's data respectively, while User C's area contains not only the data of User C, but also the data of User A and B.

    How to define the area for User A with only User A's data:

    Only users with the functional right General administrator can access the Area Management menu.

    1. Select Define Areas on the Replication panel in SOAdmin.
      The dialog box Area Management displays.
    2. Click the New button to define the area for User A. The dialog box Area Definition displays.
    3. In the field Area Name, enter a descriptive name for the area, for example User A.
      The list box Available associates in the upper right part of the dialog box, displays all the users which have been defined as employees in the Users panel in the Admin client.
    4. Highlight User A and click on the left arrow to the left of the list box.
      User A moves to the list box Included associates in the upper right corner and is no longer available in the list box Available associates.
      The bottom left list box, Available associates, displays the users who can be assigned login rights to the area being defined. A user can only be assigned to one area at the time, but more than one user could have login rights rights to an area.
    5. Highlight User A and click on the left arrow to the right of the list box. User A moves to the list box Assigned Associates in the lower right corner. User A is no longer available in the list box Available associates.
    6. Click OK to save. You return to the dialog box Area Management where User A now displays in the list box Defined Areas.
    7. Repeat steps 1-6 to define the area for User B.

    How to define the area for User C with User A and B's records also included:

    1. Select Define Areas on the Replication panel in SOAdmin.
      The dialog box Area Management displays.
    2. Click the New button to define the area for User A. The dialog box Area Definition displays.
    3. In the field Area Name, enter a descriptive name for the area, for example User C.
    4. Since User C will also have the records of User A and B, highlight User A, User B and User C in the list box Available associates and click on the right arrow. The three users display in the list box Included associates.
    5. In the list box Available associates, highlight User C and click on the left arrow. User C moves to the list box Assigned associates.
    6. Click OK to save. You return to the dialog box Area Management where User A, User B and User C now display in the list box Defined Areas.

    How to define an area for two users including the data belonging to two other users:

    1. Select Define Areas on the Replication panel in SOAdmin.
      The dialog box Area Management displays.
    2. Click on the New button to define the area for the two users. If we use the example with the salespersons Peter, Paul, Marie and Lynne as a starting point, we will now define an area for Peter and Paul including Peter’s, Paul’s, Marie’s and Lynne’s data.The dialog box Area Definition displays.
    3. You specify a name for the area, for example Customer Group California in the field Area Name.
    4. The list box Available associates in the upper left corner of the dialog box displays all users who are defined as employees in the Users panel in the Admin client. Highlight Peter, Paul, Marie and Lynne, and click on the right arrow to the right of the list box.
      The users are moved to Included associates in the upper right corner and are no longer available in the list box Available associates.
    5. The list box Available associates in the lower left corner displays the users who can be assigned login rights to the area defined. A user can only be assigned one area at a time, but more than one user can have login rights to an area, so that both Peter and Paul can have login rights to Customer Group California. You can actually have login rights to an area where your own data is not included, but this is not recommended.
    6. Highlight Peter and Paul and click on the right arrow to the right of the list box. Peter and Paul are moved to the list box Assigned associates in the lower right corner, and are no longer available in the list box Available associates.
    7. Click on OK to save. You will return to the dialog box Area Management where Customer Group California is displayed in the list box Defined Areas.
      You must generate an Update Prototype for each area defined before a user can perform the Local Update.

    Edit an Area

    Sometimes it may be necessary to edit an area, for example if a new employee should be added to an area.
    How to edit an area:
    1 Select Area Management in the sub-menu Travel in the File menu. The dialog box Area Management displays.
    2 Highlight the area to edit and click the Edit button.
    3 Make the desired changes to the area. Click OK when done.

    Delete an Area

    An area can be deleted if no longer needed. However, make sure that the area is not in use by any users before deleting.
    How to delete an area:
    1 Select Area Management in the sub-menu Travel in the File menu. The dialog box Area Management displays.
    2 Highlight the area to delete and click the Delete button.
    3 The dialog box Delete Area displays. Click OK to delete the area.

    View Assignments

    To view which users are assigned sign-on rights to which areas, you can click the View Assign button. The dialog box User Assignment displays which users are assigned sign-on rights to which areas.